Baby Whale

Last week, my mother asked me to make her a baby gift for a baby boy – I told you that I was elbow deep in baby projects!!!  She did not give me any specifications, but when I suggested this bunny pattern from Lion Brand or this whale, she chose the whale.  Evidently bunnies are not manly, and whales are.  Hahahaha.

This is my first Amy Gaines pattern, and like everyone else that has tried them, I found it very easy to follow.  This whale was knit in one piece – so I did have to do some seaming – but I survived it!! The yarn I used for this pattern is not my favorite – Bernat Cottontots – so I am just trying to use up what I have left.  This is Blue Berry, and it took about 1/3 skein.  For the underbelly I used some left over Sugar N Cream in white.

I do not find knit amigurumi as easy to stuff as crochet, so does anybody have any tips??  Knit is just so stretchy; everytime I would put the stuffing in, it would just stretch out into a *new* shape.  I found this to be rather aggrevating so I did not stuff it as firmly as I would have preferred.  Aside from that, I think it turned out very cute!!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle
    Jun 21, 2009 @ 16:29:26

    awwwww…..

    Reply

  2. hakucho
    Jul 19, 2009 @ 19:22:17

    ADORABLE :) and perfect for a baby boy !!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

