FO 6/52: Baby Bear

I **finally** have a finished object to show off.  I cannot even begin to tell you how behind I have gotten! :(  Happily, this is a Christmas gift that I can get crossed off of my list AND blog about.  This cute little bear is going to be for my new little cousin, Addy, who was born this past February.

The pattern is from the book, Itty – Bitty Toys, and I used just a little over 1/2 skein of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in Happy Valley.  Since my gauge is SO LOOSE, I used 2.5 mm needles – I always have a problem with my knit toys being so stretchy and therefore hard to stuff, so I really have to go down a couple of needle sizes from what most patterns recommend.

This was a relatively quick knit until I got to the feet – so fiddly and boring!!  The legs and feet are worked in 2 pieces and then the foot is sewn onto the leg.  It ends up with a cute result, but not very fun to actually perform.  I kept on putting off finishing it up, but I finally bit the bullet, and just did it!!  I have so few FOs to show off right now, it felt good to actually finish something even if I didn’t not enjoy the final finishing process!!

I am still plugging away on all of my weekly projects (I started #13 on Saturday) – still currently working on a lot of stuff that I can’t blog about until things are given to the intended recipient, but quite frankly, I’d have to finish something before I could do either…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sus
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 19:13:27

    He’s very cute, indeed! I like how there’s a patch of pink on the top of his head. It’s very endearing for some reason. Great job!

    Reply

  2. Michelle
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 19:48:50

    Cute bear. Is the yarn Lorna’s? Looks like one of their colors. You’ll catch up, just do a bunch of dishcloths!

    Reply

  3. auburnchick
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 21:19:49

    That is adorable!!!!

    Reply

  4. hakucho
    Sep 12, 2010 @ 19:11:32

    Your bear is “beary” cute! Couldn’t help myself ;)

    happy knitting :)

    Reply

  5. Maytina
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 23:20:36

    Amigurumi always makes me smile. I adore it, you’ve made a super cute bear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

