Mother’s Day 2010

I thought it would be a good idea to knit Mother’s Day gifts this year so I chose a scarf pattern for each of the mothers that I was going to knit for, mine and Jason’s.  Finally they are both finished and with their intended recipients!!

I DID start them in plenty of time to be able  to give them ON time, however we moved into our house at the end of April and my knitting time suffered greatly – my mother recieved her scarf on Memorial Day weekend and Jason’s mother received her scarf on Father’s Day weekend – the next time that I saw each mother, respectively.

For my mother, I chose the Koigu Ruffle Scarf (Rav Link).  I have never had to cast on so many stitches before in my life!! There was also an unfortunate incident that resulted in the deaths of about 8 stitch markers. 😦  A very sad tale.

For this scarf, I used approximately 1 3/4 skeins of Koigu KPPPM color P431 – I enjoyed this knit and if you like ruffles you will love this finished piece!! VERY ruffly!!

For Jason’s mom I dove into my stash and found 1 skein of Lorna’s Laces Shepherd Sock in colors that I thought she’d like for the Drop Stitch Scarf.  The skein I chose is Gold Hill.

This is a GREAT scarf for 1 random skein of sock yarn b/c it looks complicated but isn’t!!  A good blocking really helped to make this a good sized scarf.  (Sorry, but I forgot to measure!!)

Tomorrow I will be back with my 52in52weeks update and newest project!!  These weeks are coming up on me fast!!

