FO: Sock Yarn Pram Blanket

People always say that when you have kids the time goes by so fast and BOY ARE THEY RIGHT!!  Today MY BABY is 12 weeks old.  I honestly feel like we were just bringing her home yesterday (although some days it feels like a lifetime ago as well).  Time is a tricky thing!!  So imagine my shock (and horror!) when I realized that I had knit nary a stitch in over 3 months!!   My baby did not arrive until 11 days after her due date, and by that point knitting was not on the top of my ‘to-do’ list.  That mainly consisted of worrying that I would be pregnant forever and dreading the inevitable – having to be induced.

After she arrived, my hormones and baby haze did not really allow for much concentration on other things.  If I had ‘free time’ I spent it sleeping!!  Thankfully, we are starting to get adjusted around here, so I was able to pick up my needles and finish a project that I had hoped to finish before she was born.  Six months after starting it, I am happy to have completed the sock yarn pram blanket!!

I am SOOO happy to have finally completed this!!  I used size 6 needles and lots of different scrap amounts of sock yarn and completed about 45 repeats of the 4 row pattern.  It measures approximately 29″ x 32″ – the perfect size for draping over her carseat or stroller.  (Not that we need a wool blanket in Mississippi right now!)  It really was a VERY quick knit.  Once I picked it back up, it only took me about 3 days of knitting when I could (3o minutes to an hour, here and there) to complete about 20 or so repeats.  Fortunately, I had been weaving in ends as I went along (for the most part) so that was not such a daunting task at the end.

Huge thanks to Michelle for sending me some of her left over sock yarn!! I am not a sock knitter, so the few projects that I have made that used sock yarn would NOT have made a complete blanket.  She was a lifesaver for this project!!